Young Birder's Scholarship



Now Accepting Applications for the 


You can attend the Hog Island Audubon Costa Rica Camp!

Application deadline is July 15, 2017

The Georgia Ornithological Society will send one lucky teen to participate in Hog Island Audubon’s Costa Rica Camp December 26-31, 2017. The GOS will cover the full cost of the camp plus the round-trip airfare from Miami to Costa Rica. The recipient will be expected to pay for travel costs to and from the Miami airport and will, of course, be required to acquire a passport. Scholarship recipients arrange their own travel. For more information about Hog Island Audubon’s Costa Rica Camp, visit:


How to apply: The applicant must be at least 15 and no older than 18 during the camp session and must be a Georgia resident. Complete the application form (PDF Version or MS WORD Version) and write an essay (500 word minimum) about your interest in birds and birding, your involvement in the Georgia birding community, what you will do with the knowledge you will gain from this camp, your career goals, and how you will spread your interest in birds to friends. Include at least three letters of recommendation with the application. Scholarship recipients are expected to write an article with pictures describing their experiences at the camp for the GOShawk newsletter. To see issues of this newsletter, visit:


Note: You are not eligible to apply if you have previously received two or more birding camp scholarships from GOS. 

The winner will be selected on July 30, 2017. 


Mail your application materials to:

Dr. Robert Sargent / 2017 Parks Scholarship (Costa Rica)

1263 Clairmont Place 

Macon, GA 31204

Applications may be submitted electronically (Subject: Costa Rica GOS Parks Scholarship) to:

All submissions must be in pdf format - unreadable applications will be returned







Angus Pritchard and friends at Camp Colorado






Patrick Maurice with banded Rufous Hummingbird


Richard A. Parks Biography



Young Birders' Scholarship Recipients

2017: John Deitsch, Josiah Lavender, Emma Dickinson, and Ewan Pritchard
2016: Selu Adams, Branch Austinson, Graydon Hidalgo, and Rich Hull
  (Note: The registration fee for one of the Camp Avocet scholarships was funded by donations.)
2015: Angus Pritchard
2014: John Mark Simmons and Patrick Maurice
2013: Rosemary Kramer, Ethan Hatchett, Sarah Adams, Rebecca Mello, and Sam Brunson

2012: Marshall Weber, Ben Thesing and Hunter Hebenstreit
2011: Nicholas Sinks, Rachel Rozin, Scooter Finney, John Mark Simmons
2010: Jordan Budnik, Andrew Theus, Luke Theodorou
2009: Kelly Overduijn, Jordan Budnik
2008: David Hollie, Luke Theodorou
2007: DeeAnne Meliopoulos